top of page
  • Writer's pictureVariant Magazine

How to Practice Viewing Your Aura

Updated: Oct 17, 2023

By Rylie Miller, Blogger

The presence of auras has been radiating around humans, animals and plants for quite some time. The first complete description of auras and their colors was in the 19th century from theosophist Charles Leadbeater. Auras are energy fields surrounding living beings. As individuals, we are not only creating energy but we are energy as well.

Our aura energy serves as our second skin. Auras make it possible for our energy to be seen by others as well as reflect how we may be feeling through the energy we create and give off. Though our auras are always present, not everyone is able to see them as easily as others. People who are sensitive to the adaptations of auras and psychics are able to view auras more effortlessly than others, but that does not mean that you’re not able to practice seeing them through educating yourself on the process of understanding and viewing other people’s auras.

Photo by Sydney Honaker / Models: (L to R) Carolyn Hunter, Mariam Al-Shaikh, Maddy Salyer

Auras are the field around our physical bodies. They can also be interpreted as the energy one radiates from their body toward others. The energy we radiate can be interpreted as an electromagnetic field of radiation emerging from the head and feet, spreading from narrow distances to wider ones. Along with auras lie seven different layers, known as chakras. Each layer of auras connects with the different chakra layers. The higher the aura layer, the further away from the body it goes.

The first layer of an aura is known as the Etheric Body, according to Intuitive Souls. This layer is closest to the physical body and represents muscles, tissues, bones and more. It is connected to the root chakra and is easiest to see with the naked eye. It radiates a bluish gray color and is emphasized more in those who live an active lifestyle.

The second aura layer is Emotional. It is second from the physical body and represents emotions and feelings. It coincides with the solar plexus chakra. It can be reflected in one with all the colors of the rainbow, yet during times of emotional stress the colors may appear more muddy.

Mental is the third aura layer, according to Intuitive Souls. This is third from the physical body and represents thoughts, cognitive processes and state of mind. This can be identified from a bright yellow color around the head, neck and shoulders. Those who consistently engage in mental tasks or have overactive minds accentuate their third layer by flowing sparks being seen from this layer when engaging in a creative activity. It is connected to the sacral chakra.  

Photo by Sydney Honaker / Model: Mariam Al-Shaikh

The next layer is the Astral. This is fourth from the physical body and can be seen as a pink or rosy color. It is connected to the heart chakra. It becomes stronger when an individual is in a loving, intimate relationship. This layer becomes weaker when one is going through a breakup or rough patch.

The fifth layer is the Etheric Template and represents the entire map of the body existing on the physical plane. Everything one creates on this level––identity, personality and overall energy––can be seen in this layer. The intertwined chakra is the throat chakra and can vary in color. Knowing who you truly are and expressing that truth will make this layer stronger.

The Celestial layer is the sixth layer and is connected to the third eye chakra. It carries out a strong and powerful vibration and is connected to the Divine of all other beings. This layer is where unconditional love and feelings of oneness flow. Individuals with strong Celestial layers have the potential to communicate with those in the spirit world and may receive angelic messages. It is reflected as a pearly white color.

Photo by Sydney Honaker / Model: Carolyn Hunter

The final layer is the Ketheric Template, which is the furthest from the physical body. It represents the feeling of being one in the universe. This gold-colored layer holds all the information about one’s soul and details from previous lifetimes. It rapidly pulsates and vibrates at the highest frequency. Psychic abilities are strong when this layer is at its peak. 

Chakras are variously colored spinning wheels in our energy fields. Some may compare them to the shape of a pinwheel. The root chakra is located at the base of the spine and is red in color. It is closest to the Earth, keeping one grounded. This chakra controls fight or flight senses and may be blocked by potential fears, procrastination, paranoia and defensiveness.

The next chakra level is the sacral chakra, which is located between the base of your spine and your navel. Pleasure, sexuality, procreation and creativity are represented in this chakra. Potential blockages arise from emotional problems, compulsive or obsessive behaviors or sexual guilt.

The Solar Plexus is located just a few inches above the navel. It connects to the digestive system, muscles, pancreas and adrenals. It controls one’s emotional life. All sorts of emotions are felt through this chakra and store sensitivity and ambition. Blockages may arise from manifested anger, frustration or a sense of victimization.

The Heart chakra is the center of love and compassion, harmony and peace. It can be described as the house of the soul. It’s associated with one’s lungs, heart, arms and hands. Blockage may come from the immune system, lung and heart problems. 

Photos by Sydney Honaker / Model: Maddy Salyer

The Throat chakra is the communication, creativity, self-expression and judgement. In one’s neck, shoulders, arms, hands, thyroid and parathyroid glands is where the throat chakra can be found. Blockage may arise from creative blocks, dishonesty or general communication problems.

The Third Eye chakra is located in the center of one’s forehead at eye level or slightly above eye level. It is the chakra of questioning the spiritual nature of our life. It is the chakra of question or perception of knowing. Blockage in this chakra could be from manifested issues, selective memory and depression.

The Crown chakra is located at the top of the head and associated with the cerebral cortex, central nervous system and the pituitary gland. It embraces information, bliss, understanding and acceptance. It is sometimes referred to as a place to connect to God. Blockage comes from psychological problems.

It is key to be aware of colors when reading one’s aura. All that is required to read another individual’s aura is the knowledge of how to use your senses together along with using your conscious effort, according to Thiaoouba Prophecy. By never deciding to try and see, one will never achieve seeing the aura. 

Photo by Sydney Honaker

Other ways to enhance your chances to view an aura, according to Chakra Anatomy, are to sit down and relax, with your back against a wall or chair with your feet flat on the ground while being aware of your breathing. Then, put your hand out in front of you and spread your fingers, soften your gaze and you will begin to see colors forming. This is the time to reflect on what you are seeing and remain patient.

After frequently practicing this, you will eventually be able to do this exercise more effortlessly and see more colors, as well as be able to read others. To read another individual’s aura, it is a similar concept, except have them sit against a white wall and focus on them as you would your hand. Do not strive to see anything, for the colors will radiate on their own.

2 views0 comments


bottom of page